My 100th Blog: I’ve Started Making Sketches and Used to Too.

This is my 100th blog post on insnodwetrust.wordpress.com. I’ve lived in Chicago for six weeks now. My summerly teacher’s salary has allowed me the luxury of writing and performing as much comedy as possible without the hurdles and complications a day job includes (in other words, I am unemployed, but I am still getting paid for a few months). I spend several hours a night at different open mic nights throughout the week in order to talk for around four minutes each night. I attend improv workshops and improv open mics when I can. And when my roommate and I are home at the same time, we tape the sketches I’ve written. Two sketches are currently being edited. One [especially nerdy] sketch is finished and is running online. You can see it here:

Scott and I working are under the name Social Dynamite, which was the name of our long-form improv show back in Springfield, MO. The two sketches I’m currently editing involve more folks than just us two, though, so that’s a thing to look forward to.

But I used to make sketches. I made a lot of sketches in high school, thanks to the opportunities and equipment and classmates provided through taking a broadcast media class. I created some of my most regrettable comedies thanks to adviser Dave Davis of Hillcrest High School, and my friends Jordan, Andrew, Chance (though they’d hate to be credited), and others.

I made several videos using Lego animation while in high school (I would also tell you that I never went on dates, but you already knew that because I made several videos using Lego animation while in high school). One of them was a parody trailer for the at-the-time nonexistent Final Destination 4 (At the time, Final Destination 3 had just come out). In 2008, the year after I graduated high school, I put the video on Youtube. It currently has 103,942 views. That isn’t a lot by Youtube standards. But that is a lot considering how terrible the video is. No, really, it is awful. Do you dare watch it? It’s pretty bad. I’m warning you. OK, here it is:

I don’t know how or why it has that many views, but it is my most-viewed video by thousands and thousands of views. I have contest-winning stand-up sets from my youthful days as a nervous stand-up comic, including the set when I opened for Bo Burnham. That dumb Lego video BEATS THEM ALL. And for good reason? Here are some of the comments on my brilliant sketch, “Final Destination 4 (a Lego movie)”:

that sucked

uhhhhhhhhhhhh…???

????? i dont know what to say

this is for the award of the stupid video evar

what….was that?

lol u must have work hard on that

is that an trailer

why didnt they have a black lego for that one!?

u do know that there realy is a new one coming out right?

Best vid on YouTube.

Anyway. This my 100th blog for real. Thanks for reading this dumb thing. I appreciate it, really.

Screen Shot 2013-07-14 at 12.32.30 PM

Thanks for watching!

2 thoughts on “My 100th Blog: I’ve Started Making Sketches and Used to Too.

  1. Hi, I like your century blog post. There are many aspects of this article on which I concur with you. You have generated synapses in my brain not used often. Thank you for getting my neurons jumping.

Leave a Reply

