My 2011 Emmy Predictions

I don’t really consume enough of any sort of media to care very much about any awards show, or to have any credibility in predicting winners on the whole, however, I do have a few strong opinions about the 2011 Emmy nominations. But only when it comes to the comedy categories, because when I do watch TV, that’s about all I watch.

So, I’m going to list the category, the nominees, and who will win and/or should win.

Best comedy seriesModern Family, 30 Rock, Glee, The Office, The Big Bang Theory, Parks and Recreation.

Modern Family will probably win, but I think Parks and Recreation should win. 30 Rock is still one of my favorite shows, and I’d be happy if they came out the winner, but I think Parks and Rec deserves the love. The Office was pretty good this season, but I’ve been over it for a while. Glee legitimately makes me uncomfortable to watch (I tried once). I’ve never seen Big Bang Theory, but only because I’m a creationist.

Comedy actor: Steve Carell, The Office; Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock; Jim Parsons, Big Bang Theory;  Matt LeBlanc, Episodes, Louis C.K., Louie; Johnny Galecki, Big Bang Theory.

Anything Louis C.K. is nominated for, he should win. He could be nominated for “Best dramatic actress who doubles as a reality competition” and I would think he deserves to win. (Louis C.K. therefore should also win “Writing for a Comedy Series,” and anything else he was actually nominated for.)

Comedy actress: Tina Fey, 30 Rock; Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie; Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation; Laura Linney, The Big C; Martha Plimpton, Raising Hope; Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly.

I’m kind of torn between Tina Fey and Amy Poehler on this one. Umm…Tina Fey, because I prefer brunettes.

Supporting comedy actor: Ty Burrell, Modern Family; Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family; Ed O’Neill, Modern Family; Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family; Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men; Chris Colfer, Glee.

OK, enough, Modern Family. Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet are fine, but do you really need four nominations? Based on these choices, I would narrow it down to either Danny Pudi (Community), Bill Hader (Saturday Night Live), or Nick Offerman (Parks and Rec), none of whom were nominated, which is a huge disappointment (Community, by the way, got no nominations, and got totally shafted). I say Nick Offerman for the upset and the win.

Supporting comedy actress: Julie Bowen, Modern Family; Sofia Vergara, Modern Family; Jane Lynch, Glee; Betty White, Hot in Cleveland; Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live; Jane Krakowski, 30 Rock.

Kristen Wiig, but mostly because I liked Bridesmaids so much!

Variety, music or comedy seriesThe Colbert ReportLate Night with Jimmy Fallon,Saturday Night LiveConanReal Time with Bill MaherThe Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

This one is really tough, because I’ve had a hard time keeping up with Colbert, Stewart, Conan, and Fallon, though I enjoy them all. I think SNL has been pretty great this season, though I bet people wont think so until about five years from now when critics, audiences, and obnoxious people on twitter’s future equivalent proclaim that the 2015/2016 season should be more like the 2010/2011 season. This could go any direction (except Bill Maher, I hope), so I’ll guess Colbert.

Welp. Those are my predictions and feelings. But really my feeling is that Nick Offerman, Danny Pudi, Bill Hader, and Louis C.K. should have their own show. Or their own episode of Community or Children’s Hospital or something.

Leave a Reply

