My Reading List vs My Netflix Instant Queue

My summer has finally taken me to a pathetically lazy but totally awesome place. After spending a few weeks traveling all over Missouri to see my friends pledge undying love for each other in their weddings, and doing new-teacher orientation stuff while back in Springfield, I can finally sleep in every single day and ward off loneliness with books or television or movies.

The problem is that I’ve been Netflixing way more than I’ve been reading. I’m not totally OK with this, because I really want to be reading, but I have a hard time resisting the urge  to watch a bad zombie movie at any moment, or to finish off season 2 of Party Down again. I don’t know if I have time to read all of my reading list this summer if I keep letting Netflix control my time, so I think I might start putting certain shows or movies up against a book and flipping a coin to see which one I accomplish first, or at all.

It’s kind of like the books and televised media are competing in battle, which adds some excitement to the whole situation. I don’t have everything worked out yet, but it would be something like The Second Half of Season 4 of 30 Rock vs Lamb by Christopher Moore. Episodes of Archer vs A Clockwork Orange (the book. I think I’ll watch the movie later, so I’m already desensitized by that point). Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Movie vs The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Gatsby, as well as a bunch of other books, I really need to read because I will be teaching them this year, so I might stack those books against what I’m less likely to watch, like movies or shows from my childhood that would probably be disappointing if I watched them as an adult). The Big Lebowski (yeah, I’ve never seen it, and that just blows some people’s minds) vs I Drink For A Reason by David Cross. Invader Zim vs Naked by David Sedaris. The Machinist vs From Hell by Alan Moore. High Fidelity vs High Fidelity by Nick Hornby. And so on.

I don’t know how this will end up working out–I kind of came up with this just now, like, as I was typing. It isn’t very well thought-out. And I have way more books and things on my Netflix Queue than I mentioned here. At least 13 other books. And at least 18 other things to Instant[ly] Watch (at the moment).

If anyone has an idea for a quality system to choose between books, movies, and TV shows, feel free to let me know.

Leave a Reply

